Green provides spark for Harlequins, but not enough to down Falcons

Written by Hannes Nienaber

NewsGLooddeJager School of Rugby | Green provides spark for Harlequins, but not enough to down Falcons - School of RugbyTyrone Green (Jeppe High School for Boys') scored two superb tries in his first start for the Harlequins as they were attempting to bag their eighth successive victory on the road. It was however not enough as the Newcastle Falcons bagged a 25-22 victory thanks to a penalty by flyhalf, Brett Connan, in the 79th minute of the encounter. 

The Harlequins' other try was scored by former Springbok Stephan Lewies (Eldoraigne) who also captained the losing side. Green started on the right-wing with another two South Africans André Esterhuizen (Klerksdorp) and Wilco Louw (HTS Drostdy) in the starting line-up. Green made seven runs in which he gained 129 metres for the Harlequins. 

Jordan Els (Westville Boys' High) was an unused sub in the match, while Simon Kerrod (Pretoria Boys' High) who replaced Louw in the 65th minute received a yellow card in the 76th minute of the clash. 

Another Springbok Louis Schreuder (Paarl Gimnasium) and Philip van der Walt (Adelaide Gimnasium) started for the winning side of this clash.

The Sale Sharks moved into the fourth position in the standings for the Guinness Premiership with a 25-20 victory over the Exeter Chiefs with four Saffas who started the match for them. Faf de Klerk (Waterkloof), Lood de Jager (Hugenote, Springs), Jono Ross (St Stithians College) and Daniel du Preez (Kearsney College) all started in this victory for the Sharks. 

World Cup champions De Jager and De Klerk were star performers for the Sharks with the former receiving the Man-of-the-Match award for his performance. 

Another three South Africans - Coenie Oosthuizen (Grey College), Cobus Wiese (Hoërskool Upington) and Robert du Preez (Kearsney College) made an appearance from the bench. Ross received a yellow card in the 25th minute of the encounter at the AJ Bell Stadium. 

For the losing side Jacques Vermeulen (Paarl Gimnasium) started on the side of the scrum, while another loose-forward Don Armand (Maritzburg College) got some game time from the bench. 

Gloucester managed to secure only their second victory of this season's Guinness Premiership by downing the Worcester Warriors by 22-14. The Warriors enjoyed a 7-5 lead at the break after winger Nick David dotted down in the opening minute.

Gloucester had one Saffa in Ruan Ackermann (Garsfontein) starting at Nr. 8, while four South Africans - Francois Hougaard (Paul Roos Gimnasium), Francois Venter (Grey College), Nic Schonert (Maritzburg College), and Gerrit-Jan van Velze (Affies) started for the Warriors. 

The Bristol Bears kept their position on top of the rankings thanks to a 17-3 victory over the Leicester Tigers at Ashton Gate. Only one Saffa was in action in the match with Kobus van Wyk (Paarl Gimnasium) starting on the right-wing for the Tigers. 

London Irish came from behind to beat the Wasps by 16-10 in their encounter at the Ricoh Arena on Saturday. The Wasps enjoyed a 10-6 lead at the break. 

London Irish had Alan Dell (Queen's College) in their midst starting at loosehead prop, while former Bok-centre Juan de Jongh (Hugenote, Wellington) started in the midfield for the Wasps. 

PHOTO: Twitter/@SaleSharksRugby


Sale Sharks 25 (15) - Tries: Byron McGuigan, Bevan Rodd, Curtis Langdon. Conversions: AJ MacGinty (2). Penalties: MacGinty. Exeter Chiefs 20 (15) - Tries: Facundo Cordero, Sean Lonsdale, Sam Simmonds. Conversion: Joe Simmonds. Penalty: Simmonds. 

Newcastle Falcons 25 (14) - Tries: Callum Chick, Logovi'i Mulipola, Adam Radwan. Conversions: Brett Connan (2). Penalties: Connan (2). Harlequins 22 (7) - Tries: Tyrone Green (2), Stephan Lewies. Conversions: Marcus Smith (2). Penalty: Smith.

Gloucester 22 (5) - Tries: Billy Twelvetrees, Matias Alemanno, Tom Seabrook. Conversions: Twelvetrees (2). Penalty: George Barton. Worcester Warriors 14 (7) - Tries: Nick David, Penalty Try. Conversion: Jamie Shillcock.

Bristol Bears 17 (14) - Tries: Will Capon, Piers O'Conor. Conversions: Ioan Lloyd (2). Penalty: Lloyd. Leicester Tigers 3 (3) - Penalty: Joaquin Diaz Bonilla.

London Irish 16 (6) - Try: Ollie Hassell-Collins. Conversion: Paddy Jackson. Penalties: Jackson (3). Wasps 10 (10) - Try: Tom Willis. Conversion: Jacob Umaga. Penalty: Umaga.

[powr-comments id="ce07486f_1614514640440"]


Function disabled

Right click disabled - please refresh page to continue.