Lions announce junior contracts

Written by Hannes Nienaber

Lions School of Rugby | Lions announce junior contracts - School of RugbyFour Junior Springboks, Wandisile Simelane, Jeanluc Cilliers, Reinhardt Nothnagel and Len Massyn have been contracted by the Lions Rugby Company (Pty) Ltd.

Rudolf Straeuli, CEO, emphasised that “we aim to develop players and keep key junior players in the system. That is vital to our succession plan.”

Other key players from the winning Currie Cup teams in 2016 have also renewed their contracts ensuring sustainability throughout the junior and senior procurement, namely:

Bradley Thain, Eddie Fouché, HP van Schoor, Jan-Louis la Grange, Len Massyn, Leo Kruger, Reinhard Nothnagel, Siya Masuku, Tyreeq February.

To secure top Under 19 players for 2018 has also been a key objective for the Lions Rugby Company. Bart Schoeman, Manager of the High Performance, elaborate: “Ensuring the signing of top players from our local schools have been the main aim this year. Only after signing “home-grown” players in key positions did we go out to fill the gaps with the next best”.

“We have a few negotiations still outstanding but are proud to welcome the following players to the Lions Rugby family,” he said.

Asenathi Ntlabakanye, Cristen van Niekerk, Dameon Venter, David Cary, Ewan Visser, Gerrit Visser, Giovanne Snyman, Jonathan Viljoen, JW Meades, Keagan Glade, Kennedy Mpeku, Mark Snyman, Michael Goodal, Nkosikhona Masuku, Ruben Kotze, Tinus Combrinck, Travis Gordon, Ulrich Maritz, Wihan de Beer, Yanga Hlalu.


Function disabled

Right click disabled - please refresh page to continue.